# TROPHIES

Avoca Beach Women's Bowling Club play for the Jean Hickel Trophy, The Vera Peyton Friendship Trophy, the ABBT Trophy and enter teams with the Avoca Beach Men's Club in the Wyong Rugby Leagues Club Group Bowling Clubs Annual Challenge Trophy.

### The Jean Hickel Trophy

A Past Patron of the Women's Club was Jean Hickel who passed away in 2007. In her memory her son Robert has donated a Trophy for the Women's Club for competition each year. Teams of three players are chosen out of a hat. Each team have a newer bowler, and two other bowlers with mixed ability and experience. The teams play eighteen ends. At the end of the game the winners are worked out depending on the winning format. Robert is invited to present the Trophy and the prize money that he donates. Robert is invited to Presentation Day to again present the Trophy after it has been engraved. 2016 was the last year for this Trophy. Robert would like to sponsor something his father was interested in.

# **The Vera Peyton Trophy**

Avoca Beach Women play Terrigal Women's Bowling Club for the Vera Peyton Friendship Trophy annually. Vera Peyton donated the trophy in recognition of the close friendship between the two clubs after she and others transferred from Terrigal to the new club at Avoca Beach. Each Club takes its turn to hold this event. It was first played for in 1963. Each Club has an official team of the President and three of her committee. Then there are six other club selected teams of four players. After morning tea they hit the green for a game of twenty-one ends. When this is completed a light lunch is served to the players. All the scores for each club are totaled. The Club with the highest total wins the trophy and retains it until the next year. Both Clubs have won it several times.

#### **WINNERS**

- 2014 Avoca Beach 130 shots Terrigal 123
- 2015 Avoca Beach 182 shots Terrigal 124
- 2016 Avoca Beach 139 shots Terrigal 131
- 2017 Terrigal 145 shots Avoca Beach 127
- 2018 Avoca Beach 139 shots Terrigal 125
- 2019 Avoca Beach 150 shots Terrigal 98

#### THE ABBT Trophy

The <u>Avoca</u> <u>B</u>each <u>B</u>ateau <u>Bay</u> <u>T</u>errigal Trophy is played annually between these three clubs each taking it in turn to run the event. It began with Bateau Bay in 2011 they wanted to hold a day of bowls to give new players some competition. Each Club provides eight teams of four players that are club selected and graded. A grade one player is equal to 4 points, a grade 2 player equal to 3 points, a grade 3 player is equal to 2 points and a grade 4 or a non-pennant player is equal to 1 point. No team can add up to more than 10 points. Two games of fifteen ends are played with lunch in between. Two points given for a rink win and one point for a rink draw. These rink wins are added for each club. The club with the highest total wins the Trophy. In 2018, there will be 6 teams of four players, 2 gamesof 13 ends. Lunch will be after both games

#### **WINNERS**

2011	Avoca Beach.	2015	Avoca Beach.
2012	Terrigal.	2016	Terrigal.
2013	Bateau Bay.	2017	Bateau Bay.
2014	Avoca Beach.	2018	Avoca Beach.

# Wyong Rugby Leagues Club Group Bowls Club Challenge Trophy

Avoca Beach, Bateau Bay, Canton Beach, Goulburn Railway and Wyong Bowling Clubs, are all part of the Wyong Rugby Leagues Club.) In 2012 the Wyong Group suggested a day of bowls between four the above clubs.(Bateau Bay joined in 2016). This day was held at Avoca Beach. There were five Ladies teams and five men's teams of four players from each club. After morning tea it was a game of 18 ends. Then in for a lovely lunch and out again for another game of 16 ends. There was a trophy and prize money to be won. Wyong came first, Avoca Beach were second, Canton Beach third and Goulburn fourth. In 2013 the players went to Goulburn for a mixed game on the Sunday morning. In 2014 the clubs competed at Canton Beach. In 2015 it was held at Wyong over a weekend with four Avoca Beach ladies teams playing ladies and the four Avoca Beach men's teams playing men's teams on the Saturday afternoon. On the Sunday each club had eight mixed teams of four players. This was followed by a BBQ lunch. In 2018, it is to be 8 teams of mixed fours both days. 1 game of 21 ends each day.

#### WINNERS

2012	Wyong
2013	Wyong
2014	Goulburn Railway

2015	Avoca Beach
2016	Bateau Bay
2017	Wyong
2018	Avoca Beach

# **TATE'S SHIELD**

The Tate's Shield was first played for on Monday, 24<sup>th</sup> October, 2016 at The Entrance between The Entrance, Terrigal and Avoca Beach.

The first year 24 ladies (8Teams) from each club played 21 ends of 2 bowl triples before and after lunch . The next year all clubs were struggling to get players so it was 6 triple teams per club. In 2018 6 teams each. Two games of 15 ends of 2 bowl triples before lunch.

- 2016 The Shield was won by The Entrance
- 2017 The Shield was won by Terrigal
- 2018 The Shield was won by Terrigal